Skip to main contentSkip to page footer

Device Integration

Unleash the power features of field devices in the overall system

Only well-thought-out and structured integration into an overall system ensures that a field device can make the most of its advantages. With established standards, this also works across vendor boundaries.  

More than configuration and parameterization.

To use a device effectively, it must be adapted to the conditions. This means that it has to be configured and parameterized for its intended use. The best way to do this is as part of an integrated system - at a central location and across all manufacturer boundaries.  

Once the device is configured and parameterized, other software-based power features can be used in the overall system. Power features include device calibration, evaluation of stored data, provision of maintenance and service information, and much more. They increase the attractiveness of the device and increasingly serve as a differentiating feature for device manufacturers. 
 

Currently in focus: Powerfeatures

Device integration has its origins in the configuration and parameterization of devices. However, these devices often offer much more. They can be calibrated, their stored data can be evaluated, and/or they provide information for service and maintenance, including self-diagnosis.

Through advanced device integration, we ensure that users can take advantage of these power features in their preferred automation system. These genuine, often unique, performance features provide device manufacturers with a direct advantage and ensure immediate differentiation in their target market. 

FDT-Products

Michael Heller

Michael Heller is a computer scientist with a passion for automation and operational technology (OT). As Group Leader and expert in the field of Industrial IoT and Edge, he is enthusiastic about the "things" of Industrial IoT and their connection to neighboring systems, such as the Cloud.   

“It's more than that. Twenty years ago, when we started working in this area, simple tabular views were used to make the most basic settings on the devices. Today, both software technology and standards enable us to provide easy-to-use, attractive, high-level device integration software.  

In the context of IT/OT convergence, I expect device integration to change massively over the next few years. In the future, I expect advanced diagnostics to come from cloud-based systems rather than from a Windows PC.” 

When developing Linux systems for embedded devices, you often come across the build systems Yocto, PTXdist, Buildroot and Elbe. In this blog post, we compare…

Read more
Blog

Data processing and analysis on edge devices is increasing rapidly. Local processing significantly reduces data transmissions, saves bandwidth and opens up new…

Read more
Press

Honoured at the German SME Summit: Ranga Yogeshwar congratulates M&M Software GmbH from St. Georgen in the Black Forest on being awarded the TOP 100 seal. The…

Read more
Blog

Discover the possibilities of Playwright: the future of browser automation. It supports multiple browsers, offers a unified API and enables visual checks with…

Read more
Blog

Data is the fuel for successful companies. High-quality data is essential for well-founded decisions. That is why strong data quality management (DQM) is a…

Read more
Blog

In the past, software developers had to develop individual solutions for complex distributed systems, which was time-consuming and cost-intensive. Dapr offers…

Read more
Blog

The connection between IT systems (e.g. ERP or MES systems) and OT systems (such as sensors, PLC and SCADA) is increasing. More data is required from the lower…

Read more
Blog

Python is undoubtedly one of the most important programming languages for data science projects. With its simple syntax and extensive library diversity, it…

Read more
Whitepaper

In the context of the IIoT, security plays a particularly important role. In addition to the theft of trade secrets, the consequences of a cyber-attack can…

Read more
Volker Herbst

I will answer your questions.

Volker Herbst

Group Leader Sales

Zum Hauptinhalt springenZum Seitenfuß springen

Device Integration

Powerfeatures von Feldgeräten im Gesamtsystem entfesseln.

Erst die durchdachte und strukturierte Integration in ein Gesamtsystem sorgt dafür, dass ein Feldgerät seinen maximalen Nutzen ausspielen kann.  Mit etablierten Standards funktioniert das auch über Herstellergrenzen hinweg.  

Mehr als nur Konfiguration und Parametrierung.

Um ein Gerät sinnvoll einzusetzen, muss es an die jeweiligen Gegebenheiten angepasst werden. D h. es wird entsprechend dem Einsatzzweck konfiguriert und parametriert. Idealerweise passiert das innerhalb eines integrierten Gesamtsystems – an einer zentralen Stelle und herstellerübergreifend.  

Sobald das Gerät konfiguriert und parametriert ist, können im Gesamtsystem weitere softwareseitige Powerfeatures nutzbar gemacht werden. Powerfeatures sind z.B. Kalibrierung des Geräts, Auswertung gespeicherter Daten, Bereitstellung von Wartungs- und Serviceinformationen u. v. m. Sie steigern die Attraktivität des Geräts und dienen zunehmend als Differenzierungsmerkmal für Gerätehersteller. 
 

Aktuell im Fokus: Powerfeatures

Das Thema Geräteintegration hat seinen Ursprung in der Konfiguration und Parametrierung der Geräte. Aber, diese Geräte bieten oft viel mehr Möglichkeiten. Richtige Powerfeatures: sie lassen sich kalibrieren, ihre gespeicherten Daten können ausgewertet werden oder/und sie stellen Informationen zu Service und Wartung bereit bis hin zur Selbstdiagnose.

Wir sorgen mit einer modernen Geräteintegration dafür, dass Anwender:innen diese  Powerfeatures in ihrem bevorzugten Automatisierungssystem nutzen können. Diese echten, meist einzigartigen Powerfeatures bieten Gerätehersteller einen direkten Vorteil und sorgen für eine unmittelbare Differenzierung auf ihrem Zielmarkt.  

FDT-Produkte

Michael Heller

Michael Heller ist Informatiker mit viel Leidenschaft für die Automatisierung und Operational Technology (OT). Als Group Leader und Experte im Bereich Industrial IoT und Edge begeistert er sich bei M&M Software für die „Things“ des Industrial IoT und deren Anbindung an Nachbarsysteme, beispielsweise die Cloud. 

Da steckt mehr drin. 
Vor 20 Jahren, als wir mit dem Thema angefangen hat, hat man über einfache Tabellenansichten das Nötigste an den Geräten einstellbar gemacht. Heute ist man sowohl von der Softwaretechnologie als auch von den Möglichkeiten, die die Standards bieten in der Lage, anwenderfreundliche, attraktive Geräteintegrationssoftware auf hohem Niveau anzubieten.  
Im Kontext der IT/OT-Konvergenz erwarte ich in den nächsten Jahren, dass sich die Integration von Geräten massiv verändern wird. Erweiterte Diagnosen erwarte ich in Zukunft eher aus cloudbasierten Systemen als von einem Windows-PC. 

Blog

Entdecken Sie die Möglichkeiten von Playwright: Die Zukunft der Browser-Automatisierung. Es unterstützt mehrere Browser, bietet eine einheitliche API und…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Daten sind der Treibstoff für erfolgreiche Unternehmen. Hochwertige Daten sind unerlässlich für fundierte Entscheidungen. Deshalb ist ein starkes…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Früher mussten Softwareentwickler individuelle Lösungen für komplexe verteilte Systeme entwickeln, was zeit- und kostenintensiv war. Dapr bietet…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Eine der bedeutendsten Programmiersprachen für Data Science Projekte ist zweifellos Python. Mit seiner einfachen Syntax und der umfangreichen…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Edge AI wird immer bekannter, aber was steckt genau dahinter? Anfänglich war die Vision, KI-Modelle, die in der Cloud entwickelt wurden, auf die sogenannte Edge…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Die Verbindung von IT-Systemen (zum Beispiel ERP- oder MES-Systemen) und OT-Systemen (wie Sensoren, PLC und SCADA) nimmt zu. Es werden mehr Daten aus den…

Weiterlesen
Whitepaper

Im Kontext des IIoT spielt das Thema Sicherheit eine besonders große Rolle. Zu den Folgen eines Cyberangriffs können neben dem Diebstahl von…

Weiterlesen
Blog

In Produktionshallen werden heute unterschiedliche Protokolle mit jeweils spezifischen Eigenschaften eingesetzt. Die Herausforderung besteht darin, diese…

Weiterlesen
Blog

In einer Welt des rasanten technologischen Fortschritts und der zunehmenden Digitalisierung werden Innovationen im Alltag immer wichtiger. Es gibt neue…

Weiterlesen

Ich beantworte Ihre Fragen. 

Volker Herbst

Group Leader Sales