Skip to main contentSkip to page footer

Data strategy of the EU:
EU Data & AI Act

Make data more usable.

With the introduction of the Data Act, the EU aims to regulate data access while adhering to high ethical standards for data protection and data security. The EU’s AI Act is intended to regulate artificial intelligence and establish a legal basis for its development and use.

The Data Act came into effect on January 12, 2024. Therefore, it is important for companies to act quickly. 

 

EU Data Act.

The Data Act aims to create a fair and competitive data economy by ensuring that data can be accessed and used by all stakeholders in the value chain. This includes businesses, private users, and public authorities. The Act also promotes interoperability, which means that products and services from different manufacturers should be able to work together seamlessly. All these measures are designed to ensure that data is used in a way that respects privacy and security.

EU AI Act.

The AI Act aims to ensure that AI systems used in the EU are safe, transparent, traceable, non-discriminatory, and environmentally friendly. It classifies AI systems according to the risk they pose to users, with different risk levels implying more or less regulation. High-risk applications, such as those used in critical infrastructures, security authorities, and personnel management, are subject to stricter regulations, including requirements for human oversight, technical documentation, and a risk management system. The Act also prohibits AI systems that infringe on civil rights, manipulate human behavior, or restrict free will. 

Next steps

On November 27, 2023, the Council of the European Union adopted the Data Act. After the announcement, the Data Act came into effect on January 12, 2024, and after a basic transition period of 20 months, it will become directly applicable law throughout the EU from September 12, 2025. This means that companies need to take action now.

With the Data Act, the EU obliges the economy to share data. One way of secure and at the same time transparent data exchange is via so-called Data Spaces. There are already several projects and initiatives, such as Gaia-X, Catena-X, or the cross-sector data room Manufacturing-X. 

Data Act: Data donation business model | M&M Software GmbH

Workshop: EU Directives: Challenges - Solutions - Opportunities (one-day) | M&M Software GmbH

Rainer Duda

Rainer Duda is an experienced Data & AI Consultant at M&M Software, specializing in assisting companies in the development and implementation of intelligent products and services. His expertise is based on many years of experience gained through his work in AI research and knowledge transfer at the renowned Karlsruhe Institute of Technology.

„The Data Act and the AI Act present both challenges and opportunities for businesses. On one hand, they require companies to rethink their business models and products to comply with new data sharing and AI regulations. On the other hand, they open up new opportunities for businesses to leverage data and AI to create innovative products and services. By promoting data sharing and interoperability, these Acts can stimulate competition and innovation, and accelerate the development of tailor-made intelligent products and services. Companies that are willing to adapt and innovate can benefit greatly from these developments. “ 

When developing Linux systems for embedded devices, you often come across the build systems Yocto, PTXdist, Buildroot and Elbe. In this blog post, we compare…

Read more
Blog

Data processing and analysis on edge devices is increasing rapidly. Local processing significantly reduces data transmissions, saves bandwidth and opens up new…

Read more
Press

Honoured at the German SME Summit: Ranga Yogeshwar congratulates M&M Software GmbH from St. Georgen in the Black Forest on being awarded the TOP 100 seal. The…

Read more
Blog

Discover the possibilities of Playwright: the future of browser automation. It supports multiple browsers, offers a unified API and enables visual checks with…

Read more
Blog

Data is the fuel for successful companies. High-quality data is essential for well-founded decisions. That is why strong data quality management (DQM) is a…

Read more
Blog

In the past, software developers had to develop individual solutions for complex distributed systems, which was time-consuming and cost-intensive. Dapr offers…

Read more
Blog

The connection between IT systems (e.g. ERP or MES systems) and OT systems (such as sensors, PLC and SCADA) is increasing. More data is required from the lower…

Read more
Blog

Python is undoubtedly one of the most important programming languages for data science projects. With its simple syntax and extensive library diversity, it…

Read more
Whitepaper

In the context of the IIoT, security plays a particularly important role. In addition to the theft of trade secrets, the consequences of a cyber-attack can…

Read more
Volker Herbst

I will answer your questions.

Volker Herbst

Group Leader Sales

Zum Hauptinhalt springenZum Seitenfuß springen

Datenstrategie der EU: EU Data & AI Act

Daten besser nutzbar machen.

Mit der Einführung des Data Act zielt die EU darauf ab, den Datenzugang unter Einhaltung hoher ethischer Standards für Datenschutz und Datensicherheit zu regeln. Der AI Act der EU soll die künstliche Intelligenz regulieren und eine rechtliche Grundlage für ihre Entwicklung und Nutzung schaffen.  

Der Data Act ist am 12. Januar 2024 in Kraft getreten. Für Unternehmen ist es daher wichtig, schnell zu handeln. 

 

EU Data Act.

Der Data Act enthält eine Vielzahl von Regelungen mit dem Ziel, Daten in verschiedenen Lebensbereichen künftig besser und gewinnbringender nutzen zu können. Dazu ist vorgesehen, dass alle Akteure der Wertschöpfungskette den Austausch und die Nutzung von Daten ermöglichen - sowohl zwischen Unternehmen, privaten Nutzern als auch Behörden. Um dies zu erleichtern, soll auch die Interoperabilität zwischen Produkten und Diensten verschiedener Hersteller geschaffen werden. Das alles soll unter Wahrung des Datenschutzes und der Datensicherheit geschehen.

EU AI Act.

Im AI Act werden alle KI-Anwendungen je nach Risikograd in vier Kategorien eingeteilt. Je höher das Risiko, desto strenger die Regulierung. Für „Hochrisiko“-Anwendungen wie kritische Infrastrukturen, Sicherheitsbehörden und Personalmanagement soll es besondere Anforderungen geben. Hier sollen eine menschliche Kontrolle der KI, eine technische Dokumentation und ein Risikomanagementsystem vorgeschrieben werden. Programme, die Bürgerrechte einschränken, menschliches Verhalten beeinflussen oder die Willensfreiheit einschränken, sind künftig verboten. 

Nächste Schritte

Am 27. November 2023 hat der Rat der Europäischen Union den Data Act verabschiedet. Der Data Act trat am 12. Januar 2024 in Kraft und wird ab dem 12. September 2025 EU-weit unmittelbar geltendes Recht nach einer Übergangsfrist von 20 Monaten. Für Unternehmen heißt das, sie müssen jetzt aktiv werden.

Mit dem Data Act verpflichtet die EU die Wirtschaft zur Datenweitergabe. Eine Möglichkeit des sicheren und zugleich transparenten Datenaustauschs ist über sogenannte Data Spaces, auch Datenräume genannt. Es gibt bereits mehrere Projekte und Initiativen, wie Gaia-X, Catena-X oder den branchenübergreifenden Datenraum Manufacturing-X. 

Data Act: Geschäftsmodell Datenspende | M&M Software GmbH 

Workshop: EU-Richtlinien: Herausforderungen - Lösungen - Chancen (eintägig) | M&M Software GmbH 

Rainer Duda

Rainer Duda ist ein erfahrener Data & AI Consultant bei M&M Software, der sich auf die Unterstützung von Unternehmen bei der Entwicklung und Implementierung intelligenter Produkte und Dienste spezialisiert hat. Seine Expertise beruht auf langjähriger Erfahrung, die er durch seine Tätigkeit in der KI-Forschung und dem Wissenstransfer am renommierten Karlsruher Institut für Technologie erlangt hat.

„Die Gesetzgebung stellt Unternehmen vor die Herausforderung, bestehende Geschäftsmodelle und Produkte zu überdenken, eröffnet aber auch große Chancen: Die Öffnung von Datenbeständen erleichtert neuen Akteuren den Markteintritt und ermöglicht bestehenden Unternehmen, ihr Angebot zu diversifizieren und gänzlich neue Geschäftsfelder zu erschließen. Dies fördert Wettbewerb und Innovation und beschleunigt die Entwicklung maßgeschneiderter intelligenter Produkte und Dienstleistungen zum Nutzen der gesamten Wirtschaft und der Verbraucher. Unternehmen, die bereit sind, sich anzupassen und innovative KI-Lösungen zu entwickeln, können von diesem neuen Markt enorm profitieren.“ 

Blog

Entdecken Sie die Möglichkeiten von Playwright: Die Zukunft der Browser-Automatisierung. Es unterstützt mehrere Browser, bietet eine einheitliche API und…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Daten sind der Treibstoff für erfolgreiche Unternehmen. Hochwertige Daten sind unerlässlich für fundierte Entscheidungen. Deshalb ist ein starkes…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Früher mussten Softwareentwickler individuelle Lösungen für komplexe verteilte Systeme entwickeln, was zeit- und kostenintensiv war. Dapr bietet…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Eine der bedeutendsten Programmiersprachen für Data Science Projekte ist zweifellos Python. Mit seiner einfachen Syntax und der umfangreichen…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Edge AI wird immer bekannter, aber was steckt genau dahinter? Anfänglich war die Vision, KI-Modelle, die in der Cloud entwickelt wurden, auf die sogenannte Edge…

Weiterlesen
Blog

Die Verbindung von IT-Systemen (zum Beispiel ERP- oder MES-Systemen) und OT-Systemen (wie Sensoren, PLC und SCADA) nimmt zu. Es werden mehr Daten aus den…

Weiterlesen
Whitepaper

Im Kontext des IIoT spielt das Thema Sicherheit eine besonders große Rolle. Zu den Folgen eines Cyberangriffs können neben dem Diebstahl von…

Weiterlesen
Blog

In Produktionshallen werden heute unterschiedliche Protokolle mit jeweils spezifischen Eigenschaften eingesetzt. Die Herausforderung besteht darin, diese…

Weiterlesen
Blog

In einer Welt des rasanten technologischen Fortschritts und der zunehmenden Digitalisierung werden Innovationen im Alltag immer wichtiger. Es gibt neue…

Weiterlesen

Ich beantworte Ihre Fragen. 

Volker Herbst

Group Leader Sales